StudyLink logo
Students on a university campus

ACCA Degrees

ACCA Qualification Degrees

ACCA is short for the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants, which is the global professional body for accountants. ACCA provides an internationally recognised accountancy qualification, which is accepted by the majority of regulatory and educational institutions. ACCA members are regulated, to ensure that they are competent as professional accountants. Gaining the ACCA qualification is the perfect way to start your journey as a chartered accountant.

The ACCA qualification is comprised of three stages of exams, with an ethics and professional skills module, and a professional experience requirement. The exams are split into three types; applied knowledge exams, applied skills exams, and strategic professional exams.

Applied Knowledge Exams

The applied knowledge exams give you an introduction to the world of finance and accounting, as well as developing your understanding of essential accounting techniques. There are three applied knowledge exams:

  • Accountant in Business (AB)
  • Management Accounting (MA)
  • Financial Accounting (FA)

Applied Skills Exams

The applied skills exams build on your existing knowledge and understanding, developing strong and practical finance required of future accountants in any sector or industry. There are six applied skills exams:

  • Corporate and Business Law (LW)
  • Performance Management (PM)
  • Taxation (TX)
  • Financial Reporting (FR)
  • Audit and Assurance (AA)
  • Financial Management (FM)

Strategic Professional Exams

The strategic professional exams provide students with a unique set of skills, real-world application, as well as offering specialisation options. There are both essential and optional exams. These exams are:

  • Strategic Business Leader (SBL) - Essential
  • Strategic Business Reporting (SBR) - Essential
  • Advanced Financial Management (AFM) - Optional
  • Advanced Performance Management (APM) - Optional
  • Advanced Taxation (ATX) - Optional
  • Advanced Audit and Assurance (AAA) - Optional

Practical Experience

In order to gain your ACCA qualification, there is a practical experience requirement. This work experience means that you will qualify as a confident professional, who is ready to apply their knowledge in a work environment. Your relevant accounting experience can be started from when you are first accepted onto the ACCA course. Not only will this module allow you to experience applied accounting, it is also crucial for your professional development.

Ethics and Professional Skills

The ethics and professional skills module will develop your complete range of skills, using the recommendations given to ACCA by employers. This module will expose you to realistic business situations, and allow you to explore the full spectrum of advanced ethical and professional skills.

You should complete the ethics and professional skills module before taking any of the strategic professional exams.

ACCA degrees in 2024

Highlighted course

Accounting and Finance BSc

SOAS University of London United Kingdom

Find out more
See more ACCA degrees

Don't meet the entry requirements for these courses? Learn more about pathway programme options.

Learn more about ACCA courses in our detailed subject guide.

Sign up to

Sign up to, the home of quality study abroad advice.

Sign up now
Students with books and test tubes

Other study destinations for ACCA

International study advice

Find out more about the range of subjects that you can study at institutions around the world with our subject guides.

World map on a blackboard
Deciding to study abroad: The first steps

Read StudyLink's suggestions on your first steps when deciding where to study abroad, with helpful tips to make your decision easier.

Students throwing hats
What is a Pre-Masters?

International students finding it difficult to meet conditions of eligibility criteria can choose to enrol in pre-masters courses before applying for a masters degree programme.

Students reading a book
English Language Testing for International Students

Find out more about English language tests, your options and what is required as an overseas student.

Teacher at a whiteboard
How will studying abroad help your career prospects?

Read more about studying abroad, and how it can boost your future career prospects.

See more international study advice