SOAS, University of London the United Kingdom

About SOAS, University of London


The School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS), is part of the University of London and was founded in 1916. It is located in Bloomsbury, London and is recognised as the world's leading institution for the study of Asia, Africa and the Middle East.


SOAS is a diverse place to study with over 50% of students coming from outside of the UK, and welcoming students from over 133 countries. Most courses offer students the chance to spend a year abroad during their degree course, and are offered the option to study a language alongside their degree. Students are also welcomed via summer schools and exchange programs.

International students must apply to SOAS through the UCAS service and entry requirements will vary depending on the degree chosen. English language proficiency will also be taken into consideration.

Subject Areas

The University is divided into three academic faculties. These are:

  • Faculty of Arts and Humanities
  • Faculty of Languages and Cultures
  • Faculty of Law and Social Sciences

Courses at SOAS, University of London

There are 151 courses listed from SOAS, University of London. These are displayed below in alphabetical order:

Related Information

See other universities in London

Find out more about studying in the United Kingdom

Join Our Newsletter


Sign up to today for free and be the first to hear about any new study abroad opportunities

Subscribe Now