University of Edinburgh the United Kingdom

About University of Edinburgh




The University was originally founded in 1583 as the College of Edinburgh, or Tounis College, by the town council of Edinburgh under the charter of King James VI.

International Admissions

The University of Edinburgh is the fourth most popular university in the UK by volume of applications, receiving around 50,000 applications per year. Students must apply through the Universities and Colleges Admissions Service (UCAS).

Subject Areas

The academic schools at the University of Edinburgh are:

  • Business School
  • Edinburgh College of Art
  • Edinburgh School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture
  • Moray House School of Education
  • School of Divinity
  • School of Economics
  • School of Health in Social Science
  • School of History, Classics and Archaeology
  • School of Law
  • School of Literatures, Languages and Cultures
  • School of Philosophy, Psychology and Language Sciences
  • School of Social and Political Science
  • The Office of Lifelong Learning
  • University of Edinburgh Medical School
  • Royal School of Veterinary Studies
  • School of Biomedical Sciences
  • School of Clinical Sciences and Community Health
  • School of Biological Sciences
  • School of Chemistry
  • School of Engineering
  • School of GeoSciences
  • School of Informatics
  • School of Mathematics
  • School of Physics and Astronomy

Courses at University of Edinburgh

There are 547 courses listed from University of Edinburgh. These are displayed below in alphabetical order:

Related Information

See other universities in Edinburgh

Find out more about studying in the United Kingdom

Join Our Newsletter


Sign up to today for free and be the first to hear about any new study abroad opportunities

Subscribe Now