University of Aberdeen the United Kingdom

About University of Aberdeen


The University of Aberdeen, located in the north-east of Scotland, was founded by Bishop William Elphinstone in 1495. It is the third-oldest university in Scotland, and the fifth-oldest university in the English-speaking world. Over the past 500 years, we have proudly offered our students life-changing opportunities through greater knowledge and learning.

The University is one of the world’s top 200 universities (Times Higher World University Rankings 2020 and QS World Rankings 2020).

Admission to first degree courses

Entry to the University of Aberdeen is through Universities and Colleges Admissions Service (UCAS). Basic requirements include SQA Highers, General Certificate of Education (GCE), A levels, or International Baccalaureate. Other qualifications such as Scottish Vocational Education Certificate (SCOTVEC), Higher National Certificates and Diplomas (HNCs/HNDs), Scottish Vocational Qualifications (SVQs), General National Vocational Qualifications (GNVQs), and international qualifications are also recognised.

The university also accepts students via Widening Access and Articulation Routes.

Subject Areas

The University of Aberdeen is divided up into multiple schools. The schools are:

  • Business School
  • Divinity, History and Philosophy
  • Education
  • Language, Literature, Music and Visual Culture
  • Law
  • Social Science
  • Biological Sciences
  • Medicine, Medical Sciences and Nutrition
  • Psychology
  • Engineering
  • Geosciences
  • Natural and Computing Sciences
  • Postgraduate Research

Courses at University of Aberdeen

University of Aberdeen have not added any courses yet.

Related Information

See other universities in Aberdeen

Find out more about studying in the United Kingdom

Join Our Newsletter


Sign up to today for free and be the first to hear about any new study abroad opportunities

Subscribe Now