University of Oxford the United Kingdom

About University of Oxford


There is no clear date of foundation for the university, but teaching existed at Oxford in some form in 1096 and developed rapidly from 1167, when Henry II banned English students from attending the University of Paris. The oldest colleges---University, Balliol and Merton---were founded between 1249 and 1264.

The university is located in the city of Oxford, about 90km north-west of London.


The University of Oxford is one of the most international universities in the world with one third of their students being international students from over 140 countries. Applications to the University have to be made through the UCAS service and entry requirements for each course may vary, however, most will expect a level of English Proficiency.

Subject Areas

The University is split into four divisions which contain many academic departments, faculties and research centres. These divisions are:

  • Mathematical, Physical and Life Sciences
  • Medical Sciences
  • Social Sciences
  • Humanities

Courses at University of Oxford

There are 518 courses listed from University of Oxford. These are displayed below in alphabetical order:

Related Information

Find out more about studying in the United Kingdom

Join Our Newsletter


Sign up to today for free and be the first to hear about any new study abroad opportunities

Subscribe Now