StudyLink logo
Students on a university campus

About Heriot-Watt University

Country the United Kingdom
City Edinburgh
Number of courses 332

Who we are

Ranked in the world top 250 universities and located in Edinburgh, Heriot-Watt has been pushing new frontiers in the fields of science, technology, engineering, business and design since 1821. Home to prominent researchers and academics from across the world, we are driven by innovation, educational excellence and ground-breaking research.

We are a global university and international students make up one third of our community. You will share your university life with people from over 150 countries, giving you a great opportunity to learn about other cultures and build friendships that stretch across the globe.

Why choose Heriot-Watt?

  • Ranked 235th in the world, 32nd in the UK and 5th in Scotland (QS World University Rankings 2024)
  • 1st in Scotland and 4th in the UK for graduate employability (Graduate Outcomes Survey 2023)
  • Top 5 in Scotland for Engineering, Mathematics, and Accounting and Finance (Complete University Guide 2024)

Research excellence

Our multi-disciplinary, award-winning research is finding solutions to major global challenges, including living sustainably and achieving net zero. 88.6% of our research outputs are ranked world-leading and internationally excellent (The Research Excellence Framework 2021).

The National Robotarium 

Located on our Edinburgh campus, the purpose-built facility has unrivaled technology and laboratories for the development and testing of robotics and AI solutions.

Study in the UK, Dubai or Malaysia

Our Go Global programme allows you to study abroad for a semester, a year, or even longer in one of our campuses in Scotland, Dubai or Malaysia. Broaden your horizons, meet new people and experience different cultures without missing a class.

Student life 

Edinburgh was voted the best city in the world (Time Out Index 2022) and the third safest city in the world (YouGov 2022), making it a great place to live and study in.

Just 30 minutes from our Edinburgh campus, you can find the medieval Old Town, designer shopping, beautiful beaches, mountains and world-renowned festivals. It is the best of what Scotland has to offer.

Outside of academic studies, students have a choice of over 60 student unions and 30 sports clubs available at Oriam, Scotland's Sports Performance Centre used by the Scottish Rugby Union and the Scottish Football Association. 

Learn more about Heriot-Watt University

View institution website

Courses you may be interested in at other institutions

Business Administration MBA

New Vision University Georgia

Find out more

Dietetics BSc

University of Pécs Hungary

Find out more

Sustainability, Entrepreneurship, and Technology MSc

Tomorrow University of Applied Sciences Germany

Find out more

International Healthcare Management PG Dip

University of Essex Online United Kingdom

Find out more

Directing Summer Program Summer School

ESRA Film School Paris France

Find out more

Doctoral Program PhD

Abbe School of Photonics Germany

Find out more

Sport Master Degree

Wroclaw University of Health and Sport Sciences Poland

Find out more

Courses at Heriot-Watt University

There are 332 courses listed from Heriot-Watt University. These are displayed below in alphabetical order: